The Boat “MikoMan”

Maiden voyage
Friends enjoying the maiden voyage of MikoMan on Garden Lake in Namekagan immediately following her christening on July 3, 2018

I bought my 1996 Sun Tracker 24′ pontoon boat in September, 2017 specifically to make the Gulf trip. The boat was in good shape and equipped with 2000 Mercury 50 hp, four stroke outboard that runs very well. I’ve rewired the boat, removed most of the seats, added a back-up Minnkota electric motor, Lowrance GPS/Depth finder, VHF marine radio and a new AM/FM radio. More updates are coming soon, including a 100 watt solar panel and my mini-shelter for the trip.

Given the journey I’m planning, I felt it was appropriate to name the boat. I found out that naming a boat required a more formal ceremony to assure that the God’s of the sea and winds smiled kindly upon the boat and the crew, to assure safe passage and returns. The “christening” of the boat and naming her “MikoMan” took place before most of the crew, and close friends on Garden Lake near our home, on July 3, 2018.

I chose her name in memory of one of my best buddies, Miko, our Vizsla dog, who we lost a year and a half ago.

Miko
Ned with Miko

Leave a comment