“Wet Runs”

Kathy, I and a couple of friends took a test run of MikoMan on the Mississippi River at Trempealeau, WI in late July. My goal was to run the boat in the river current, which I’d never done before. I also wanted to check all of the electronics and go through a lock.

We did an out and back from the landing immediately north of Lock #6, first going upstream. There was a barge going through the lock at that time heading downstream. We found that the wake from the barge was not a problem at all for MikoMan.

All of the electronics worked well and MikoMan handled the current with no problem, even though the river was about a foot higher than normal. Unfortunately, I forgot to test my electric Minnkota back-up motor in the current. Judging from my lake experience with the Minnkota, and MikoMan’s performance in the current, I think (and hope) the Minnkota will be able to maneuver the boat to a safe shore, should we need it.

I was not able to pass through the lock due to several barges traveling on the river that day. Barges are given first priority for passage. Other commercial boats are given next priority, with recreational boats last. This did provide a lesson for the trip to allow time for delays at the many locks (40+) that we’ll travel through.

Following more work, MikoMan was taken for a second “Wet Run” on Lake Namekagon to see how she handled a fairly strong breeze and a few significant wakes. She was Excellent and Stable!

Wet Run #2
MikoMan is nearly finished and taken on a test “Wet Run” in the wind on Lake Namekagon

Leave a comment